New Normal After the Dust Settled

Hello, Healing Partners!

I’m happy to report that life is, yet again, different. I have more energy and I can get through my work days without having to lie down and nap throughout the day. My food allergies have subsided for the most part and I can fret and riot about as I normally would have before going through treatment.

But I have a deeper appreciation for things now. And I freely celebrate the little things.

For example, I got my cell phone bill down to a zero balance and can start off with a clean slate. For some people, that might not sound like a big deal. But it was a huge victory for me, especially after two years of maneuvering through my budget to make sure that it didn’t get cut off – again.

On the people side, here is what God has done since January:

My mother accepted Christ and got baptized. She is in discipleship and steadily growing in the Lord. I also had the privilege to lead one of my cousin’s to the Lord, in the middle of Karaoke chaos. She spotted my Bible in my purse and started asking questions. Clearly, other had planted the seed in her heart and after a few more exchanges, we went to one of the quieter rooms at the family reunion and she prayed to accept Christ. My sister’s boyfriend also recently accepted Christ.

That alone can end the post! LOL.

New Christians in my family have made up the “new normal.” I see how my trial through cancer treatment has also been used by God to nurture a willing ear with these loved ones to hear about the things of God. I am thankful that the Lord has not delayed in showing me how it is all part of His plan and that He has a purpose for all of my seasons, even those laced with pain.

Plus, my daughter starts high school this year. YIKES! Truthfully, though, she has blossomed into an amazing young lady who has a genuine walk with God. When she was younger, I was her mom. As she grows, I GET to be her mom and witness the wonderful work of God through her own spiritual growth.

This is the new normal after the dust settled. It took tears, prayer, church, counsel, Bible reading, repentance, forgiveness, coupons, a strict budget, sacrifice, focus, steadfastness, Netflix, pizza nights, and several notebooks to come to this point. I am blessed to get to this point. I honestly didn’t think I would make it this far. God is so good.

I feel like I took the elevator to the second floor and I can finally see what’s up here. I can finally begin.

Psalm 118:5 reads, “I called upon the Lord in distress: the Lord answered me, and set me in a large place.

If you are in the middle of a healing season or are eager to get started, let me encourage you that the difficult phases will end and you can prepare yourself to embrace new chapters in your life that might have felt so far away.

Sincerely,
Mahal

Share Your Thoughts

