How My Daughter’s Father Got Saved.

I need to tell you a story about what God did.

This past year had two heartbreaking incidents for my daughter. Her father was supposed to serve time in jail and he told us he was going to court. [i guess this is where i clear up i’m a single mom but the relationship with her dad is civil and nothing questionable]. It turns out that he didn’t serve the time. He led us to believe that the reason we didn’t hear from him was because he was in jail.

But he wasn’t. Both times, we found out from other people who were also looking for him. The kicker was that he missed Father’s Day. I watched my daughter go to church faithfully, mention her father in a quiet tone, and she went about her day without complaint. We both prayed with heavy hearts for God’s protection upon him, as he spent Father’s Day in jail. At best, that’s where we thought he was.

When the truth came out, my hear broke. I grew up without my father. At the time, I used the excuse that he lived in another country and he couldn’t be there for me. And here her father was, living in the same state, one hour away, and he still chose to misrepresent himself and miss Father’s Day with his children.

But let me start to show how the love of God went to work in this situation.

1. Emergency response.

I told her what I knew. We prayed. She cried. I cried with her. We called our pastor for an emergency counsel meeting. He met with us, counseled her and me and recommended that she suggest to her dad to meet with our pastor.

The brethren stepped in and spent time with us, giving my daughter verses that reinforced the love of God into her life. They took us out to lunch, gave us a book, prayed with us, laughed with us and were a very present help in the time of trouble.

The young men and other deacons of the church checked on her, and perhaps in an indirect way, sent the message of reassurance through their presence, dependability and their ability to follow through on their word.

2. The meeting

She asked her father to meet with our pastor. He followed through with that two weeks later. I got a knock on my front door one afternoon while she was at school. It was him. He said he met with our pastor and GOT SAVED!

“How do you feel?” I asked. “It’s the best decision I ever made in my life,” he said. He got baptized one month later.

3. The reality

He is still a new Christian. If you’re a believer, please pray for his growth in the Lord. My daughter also suggested that the best place for them to meet is at church. What a wonderful place to mend and build a relationship between a father and his daughter.

But look at this from the perspective of my daughter. She is being raised in a single parent home. She grew up in the church, accepted Christ at an early age. She goes to public school and goes through the typical comedy and crisis of pre-teen life. But she can honestly say that both of her parents are Christians! What a beautiful new reality for her.

What is the price of a soul?

Is there someone whom we think is too far gone? Are we willing to believe that God could still get a hold of them?

Can we pray? If we can, we should try.

Ephesians 3:19 says, “And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.”

Blessings,

Mahal

One thought on “How My Daughter’s Father Got Saved.

  1. Pingback: 5 Lessons I Learned from Month One of Not Dating | Journals of Healing

Share Your Thoughts

