My Spiritual and Physical Healing Had to Start with God

I used to think healing meant cozy pillows, moving really slowly and staying as still as possible. I was told by nurses to be patient with myself, which kind of made me impatient. Two years after the last radiation treatment, I learned other lessons about healing and just how hard and rewarding it can be. And that it didn’t start with cozy pillows.

1) Spiritual healing has to start with God. 

One of the devastating things for me to face was that I couldn’t carry children anymore. I had a modified radical hysterectomy, which meant the uterus was removed, but I kept my ovaries. This is a good thing. It meant I didn’t go into sudden menopause and it actually saved my life.

However, I learned how much of my womanhood and identity was wrapped up in my fertility and ability to get pregnant. I’d dare admit that perhaps that same ability was possibly idolized in my life. My plan was to get married and have more kids. In my mind, it HAD to be that way. Then, with my ability to have kids being taken away, what was left?

Psalm 147:3 answered by saying, “He healeth the broken in heart, and bindeth up their wounds.” God already had my healing in His plan. I also needed to learn who I was in Christ, that missing parts of me weren’t going to change how precious I am to God. The Lord has me zoom in on Psalm 113:9, “He maketh the barren woman to keep house, and to be a joyful mother of children. Praise ye the Lord.” Although I couldn’t get pregnant, I could still “have” children. Adoption is still a wonderful option. And there are so many ways I can express motherly love to other young people who are in real need of nurturing examples in their lives.

2) Physical healing has to start with God.

I used to separate my spiritual struggles from my body’s changing responses to food, difficulty sleeping, struggling to exercise. God showed me that He has my body’s progress under control. Faithfulness in small things, like getting enough sleep and resting my mind after a long work day, will spell out in physical rewards. Isaiah 58:8 reassured me, “Then shall thy light break forth as the morning, and thine health shall spring forth speedily: and thy righteousness shall go before thee; the glory of theLord shall be thy reward.”

3) Healing takes work. 

Kind of sounded like an oxymoron. Wasn’t I supposed to snuggle my cozy pillows? I learned that the power of God is a real and operating force that kicks in after I’ve trusted in the Lord and BELIEVE that He is who He says He is. But I have to be wiling to work, to change, to turn aside the memories of not being able to do things. I needed to be willing to make new memories, to try new things, to not let myself off the hook if I didn’t get everything done in one day. I needed to lean on God and let Him push me through and let Him prove that He can make things NEW. Isaiah answered this again in Isaiah 65:17, “For, behold, I create new heavens and a new earth: and the former shall not be remembered, nor come into mind.”

I pray that you allow the Lord the step up to the gift and responsibility of healing. It has to start with your allowing Him to do it with you. I pray that you’re encouraged that you don’t have to do it on your own.

Blessings,

Mahal

Share Your Thoughts

