God, You Want Me to Give You That? Part Two!

The surrendering continues! Here are four things that the Lord led me to give up, give in and give away!

Give God my attitude.

God showed me that I try too hard to handle my emotions, especially coming from a cultural background where we value self-control. Even with the act of taking up my Cross daily, the Lord still has a lot of joy for me to experience. Giving God my disdain and discomfort about life situations means I’ll get contentment and wisdom in return. Proverbs 4:23 reminds me, “Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life.” (KJV)

Give God my ability to accumulate wealth.

I thought my career was my own doing. I thought that money management was another skill that I just needed to get right. In addition to the Biblical principles of tithing, saving, and giving, the Lord showed me how His Word holds true in the area of earning. I needed to tap into what I really do well and stop holding back. Then, really welcome how I can earn from that into my life. This is a long process, but I needed “permission” from the Holy Spirit to take flight in this area. Proverbs 3:9 reads, “Honour the Lord with thy substance, and with the firstfruits of all thine increase.” (KJV)

Give God my privacy and routines.

So… as an introvert, this might have been the last piece standing. But it wasn’t. I LIKE my alone time. But He wasn’t trying to take it away. Instead, He showed me to be faithful in the little things and reassured me that I will know when an “interruption” is from Him. One of my favorites is Second Timothy 2:15, “Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.” (KJV)

Give God my plans and my future.

As a planning fanatic, this was challenging. If I could, I’d script out the rest of my life, flowers and all. But my thoughts are not His thoughts, thankfully! During prayer, I was comforted to know that I can set my goals and still be flexible on how I will get there. My job was to stay in His will today. He will show me the rest. I also had to face some big goals that I kept in the  back of my mind. Giving those big goals to God meant He could actually start moving things in my life to bring it to fruition, all according to His timing. Psalm 3:3 is reassuring, as it reads, “But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.” (KJV)

Give God the people I love.

Salvation is a choice. I can pray and do what I can to set the stage to make it as easy as possible for unsaved loved ones to come to Christ. But I can’t control circumstances or drop clever hints about church. They will have to come to Jesus the same way I did, by my own choice. Nothing I  do will be greater than what Jesus has for them. First Corinthians 15:58 is motivating, “Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.” (KJV)

I pray that this has encouraged you to give God something (or someone) that you might have held too closely. 

For part one of “God, You Want Me to Give You That?,” please read the blog post here

Blessings,

Mahal

2 thoughts on “God, You Want Me to Give You That? Part Two!

Share Your Thoughts

