David Lomas’ Book, “The Truest Thing about You: Identity, Desire, and Why It All Matters”

I just read David Lomas’ book, “The Truest Thing about You: Identity, Desire, and Why It All Matters.”
It’s an easy read and the language is simple enough to follow without compromising the important Truth and philosophy / doctrine in God’s Word and His love.

I really enjoyed how he shares his own lessons about identity from reading Paul’s letters to the early churches. The big deal for me about this book was the call to become who you are. Setting the foundational truth about being saved, redeemed, made purposely for God’s work, then the idea that I could grow into that, while Christ walks that process with me, was an  enlightened piece in my belief system. I appreciated that God’s love and that area of identity is not compartmentalized. Coming from a Catholic background, it is hard to shake off the idea that God is “up there” and we’re “down here” on Earth.

I initially heard about David Lomas from a broadcast from Focus on the Family. It was an answered prayer hidden in my heart since I had been tossing those identity questions in my mind. I am about to be 37, a single mom, a job but not a significant career, haven’t finished college, still stumbling through how responsible people handle money (when they have it), serving in ministry and going to church but still negotiating life choices with close family members who are not saved. I am further ahead in my goals than where I was a few years ago. But it’s like a cluttered room, there is always something to pick up.

And there always will be. This book directed my focus inward and to stare the inner woman in the face. Saved. Redeemed. Gifted in a few areas. Clumsy and naive in many others. But is this who you are?

What makes this walk real? Because there could be money and desserts today and a hostile phone call from a family member tomorrow. What am I rooting myself in, if I have any hope for reinvention of circumstance?

This book reminded me that it’s already done. I’m already held securely in God’s all-powerful, all-knowing hand. If that is the starting point, then my choices and perspective shift dramatically after that. Whether it’s offense or omission, the tendency for sharpness doesn’t become a factor in how I carry out God’s love. This has already affected my goals, a diligent drill-down of what really matters and why.

What will I choose to be bold about this week?

What will I refuse to hide from?

What will you read and pray about where God can remind you, if you know Christ, that your starting point is with Jesus?

 

“Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.” II Corinthians 5:17

Share Your Thoughts

